Absence makes the heart grow fonder

Right?

Let me begin by saying that I just bought three new albums on iTunes. I bought three (or four) last week, too. It’s been so long since I’ve acquired new music, and I’m already sick of half of them, because I’ve outplayed them.

Here are the albums and a taste from each, in case you’re curious:

Best of Chess Records Original Artist Recordings
I’m not going to lie, I bought this because Cadillac Records was a super movie, and although it’s a shame that it works this way, I want to hear the songs so I can associate them with the movie. Maybe in time I’ll associate my own memories with them, but hey, at least I didn’t buy the soundtrack with all the remakes?

Sock It to ‘Em Soul
I don’t like this compilation, actually. I should have just bought a Joe Tex album. It has Rex Garvin on it, but it doesn’t make up for much, since it’s already a song I have.

This compilation called Absolute Belter, from a company called Finders Keepers who also put out that Andy Votel album I couldn’t get enough of, but it’s all stuff from this label called Belter who specialized in Spanish musicians. It is awesome.

Spooky Tooth: That Was Only Yesterday. I heard about this from a friend, via Facebook. It’s pretty sweet, and led me to the next purchase.

Cactus: s/t Originally, I guess that Rod Stewart was supposed to sing for Cactus, but he ended up joining the Faces. But, that’s okay, because Rusty Day from the ever awesome Amboy Dukes ended up singing.

And finally, Ethiopiques, Vol. 4: Ethio Jazz & Musique Instrumentale (1969-1974)
My boss listens to this all the time at work, and I love it.
Although this isn’t the version off the album, it’s a good song.

Now that you’ve seen the goods, let me add that I don’t really have the money to spend on new tunes, which is probably why I’ve been listening to the same music since 1999 (Dear The Get Up Kids, Thank you for your years of service), and why I’ve spent a little time on the side as a music pirate (which, unfortunately, I’m not actually good at).
But, at the same time, it’s probably why I’m not growing as a person. I feel like every time I listen to an album I’ve heard a million and a half times, I’m just crawling further into my own navel.
Little kids will often as to hear the same stories, or songs, or watch the same movies over and over and over again, because they are trying to make connections between the media and the world. They are attempting to build a web to lay their identities on, and construct themselves in terms of the things they like. In doing this as an adult, I feel like I’m just enabling myself to be stagnant, lazy, and fucking boring. Someone please send me more new music.
Oh, and also, my disk drive is broken, and my computer is almost out of memory space.

In other news, it’s been a long time since I posted.

I got married, and went to San Diego. If you know me though, you have probably heard all about it already, and have probably already seen photos. If you don’t know me, I’m surprised that you’re reading this blog, and those photos would probably be really boring for you anyway.

It’s too hot to think.






Also, I hit my head on a shot stop sign last week, on my birthday. It wasn’t a big deal, but also like a baby I like to talk about any and all injuries until people get sick of hearing about it.
But, I was brave.

I am very interested in watching more Veronica Mars.

One response to “Absence makes the heart grow fonder

  1. Haha yes! Please tell me you have Bob watching Veronica Mars so he can stop thinking it’s a stupid baby show. Also, I’ve been digging Honey Cone (because of a movie). You should check them out. I’ve just been youtubing them. I’ve been listening to more new music lately, but none of it has made it off the internet and into my pocket yet.

Leave a Reply

